Awards and Scholarships

RA Jarrell Book Prize in Science & Technology Studies

The RA Jarrell book prize will be awarded to the undergraduate student  with the highest grade point average in any two or more 3000-level STS courses taken during the previous academic year. The prize will consist of two books, one drawn from the personal library of Richard A. Jarrell (1946-2013), an innovative and dedicated leader in STS teaching and research in Canada, the other a new book selected by the STS Department.

Past Recipients:

Nayaab Iftakhar (2017)

Ryan Collis (2018)

Richard Jarrell Scholarship

Richard Adrian Jarrell (1946-2013) was an indefatigable champion of the History of Science and Science Studies at York for over 50 years. His scholarship, compassion, and enthusiasm were pivotal in establishing the History of Science & Technology as a scholarly field in Canada. His focus on undergraduate education in STS, which helped shape the STS program in the Faculty of Science, grew out of his decades of work within the Natural Science General Education Program.

The Richard Jarrell Scholarship will be awarded annually to an undergraduate student studying Science and Technology Studies. To be eligible, students must have been enrolled in STS 2411 "Introduction to Science and Technology Studies" in the previous calendar year, they must have completed a minimum of 24 credits, and they must maintain a minimum GPA of 7.00. The recipient must show promise in the field of STS as indicated by the course director of STS 2411.

No application is required. Anyone having taken STS 2411 in the previous calendar year will be eligible for consideration. The Department of Science and Technology Studies will recommend student candidates for the award to the Student Awards Committee.

Past Recipients:

Jenny Hua (2016)

Kimya Shahi (2017)

Ryan B. Collis (2018)